I Have a Dream

mlk

This is a day to mark not just the life and accomplishments of a man, but to remind us of his intent.  I’ll jump right into the deep end.  Some of you hate this day because you hate blacks.  Some of you hate it not because you are racist but feel it is pandering to a special interest group, I guess that special interest group is blacks.  Some of you feel because he was a criminal, he should not get a special federal day.  All of those are valid opinions to a degree because Dr. King would not agree with me if I said you are wrong.

Dr. King …

For those of you who dislike Dr. King or feel the need to discredit him, lets look at a few facts.  He was an American.  He was a Husband. He was a father.  He had a PhD in Theology from Boston University.  That’s not an easy get. He had two bachelors degrees.  One in Sociology from Morehouse University as well as a second Bachelor of Divinity degree from Crozer Theological Seminary.  He was a Baptist Minister.  In 1964 he won the Nobel Peace Prize.  He was posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom and Congressional Gold Medal.  His actions in his own and very significant ways helped lead to the 14th Amendment to The US Constitution.  This is the simple profile of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

This is not the measure of the man.  He was arrested for peacefully protesting the treatment of blacks in Birmingham Alabama, one of the racist times in one of the most racist places in the civil rights movement.  He was an advocate of peaceful protest.  Sit-ins and the like.  He did not just preach non violence, he actually did the sit -ins himself.  He led by example.

This also, is not my point, here is the pinnacle of my post.  I grew up just outside of DC. I used to ride my bike past the Lincoln Memorial.  I used to sit on the same step Dr. King stood on while he gave his well warn and often quoted speech, “I Have a Dream”.  Just sitting there and imagining the crowd and his cadence and the feeling of being there gave me chills in August.

If you are one of those people I described in the first paragraph, I feel sorry for you.  If this does nothing to challenge those opinions, I again feel sorry for you.  If you cannot understand that freedom is universal and only takes from the oppressors, I feel sorry for you.  If you are one of those I described in the first paragraph I have a question for you … What have you done to help anyone dissimilar to yourself?

That speech is not about taking anything from whites; it is not about race at all.  It is about equality.  About having equal right to dream the same dream for all.  It means the same for each person, no matter your chosen label.  It challenges a person to dream, and his dream is for each dreamer to have equal opportunity to fulfill that dream.

Simple.

Beautiful.

Wonderful.

One thought on “I Have a Dream

Leave a Reply

